Let’s know in-depth about the Adelaide Strikers Match

The Adelaide Strikers are an Australian male and female Twenty20 cricket franchise professional team playing in Australia’s Big Bash League domestic cricket competition. The strikers are based in South Australia, representing Adelaide in the Big Bash League. Their home ground is the Adelaide Oval.

The Big Bash League is the Australian T20 League, which started in 2011. The league is made up of eight teams from the cities that are competing against each other. Each team plays against each other twice in a season, with a total of 56 regular season matches before the final series. Due to the success of Big Bash League cricket, Cricket Australia also started the Women’s Big Bash League from the year 2015. The Adelaide Strikers are a professional T20 cricket team based in South Australia, representing Adelaide in the Big Bash League. The team is currently headed by Jason Gillespie, captain Travis Head & Coach. According to me, Ben Laughlin took a total of 60 wickets.


Strikers uniform

Due to a sponsorship deal with the Breweries, West End, the Strikers wear a cornflower blue uniform with a West End draft logo on it. The Strikers were formed in 2011 to compete in the Big Bash League, succeeding in the Southern Redbacks, who now play in the defunct KFC Twenty20 Big Bash competition.


Strikers coach

Strikers Men is currently coached by former Australian cricketer Jason Gillespie and captained by Travis Head. And the women’s team is coached by Luke Williams and captained by New Josander Suzie Bates.

Adelaide Strikers popular with fans

Cricket Australia has started hosting the Adelaide Striker match every year since BBL03. It quickly became popular with fans, becoming a tradition and for years, a large crowd gathered at the Adelaide Oval. It is commonly referred to in the press as a New Year’s Eve Match or NYE Clash.

Only two foreign players are allowed in any playing eleven for matches played in the BBL. For example, in the current season of the Big Bash League, Adelaide strikers selected Colin Ingram (South Africa) and Rashid Khan (Afghanistan).

There is a compelling case where most cricket fans may be confused as to how three foreign players can play in Sydney Sixers Jason Roy (England), Sam Billings (England) and Johan Botha (South Africa). That is because Johan Botha qualified as a local player after being a citizen of Australia after playing domestic cricket for the Adelaide-based South Australia Redbacks for a few years.

The Adelaide Strikers have been ranked the most exciting team in the 2016/17 Big Bash with 2177 BBEI in the BBL. Travis Head scored a stunning century in season 5 to take home the Strikers against the Sydney Sixers in the NYE Clash, one of the most exciting NYE matches in BBL’s history to date.

Clare Louise